Pizza with red sauce and soppressata – 31 January 2012

We decided last night, having not started a bread, that I would cook a pizza tonight, and D would take over cooking tomorrow. I defrosted a 1/2 cup container of pizza sauce from the “32 Zesty Pizzas” recipe, which I like for a plain pizza, along with a 1/2 recipe (my usual) Chez Panisse calzone crust, and a block of mozzarella cheese marked “4+ oz”. I got two very large stems of parsley from the plant in the wine barrel with the little rose, and chopped them up, and also halved 6 slices of Fra’ Mani soppressata that I bought the other day. The pizza was a perfectly good plain ol’ pizza, but nothing to write home about, and we are used to better, more interesting pizzas.

D chose a “Cotes du Blaye” Bordeaux, Chateau Mayne Guyon, which we get at Costco or Trader Joe’s depending on whom you ask 😉

~ by berkeleybarb on 2012/01/31.

Leave a comment