Chicken “bruschetta” with broiled romaine and tomato – 11 May 2012

D wanted to get bread for lunch, so I chose a simple dinner that worked with bread – needed (snicker) in fact. I asked him to get an Acme Pain au Levain, and cut the bread so I could have two inside slices from the round loaf for dinner.

I used my post of 3 March, plus the Gourmet (R.I.P.) recipe, to put this together, but I altered the order of things. I started by cooking the salted chicken slices 2 minutes on one side, topping with the dijon sauce, and cooking perhaps a minute (set fo 2 and watch) on the other side. (didn’t salt enough…) then setting this cooking sheet on the bottom shelf of the oven to stay warm and keep cooking. Importantly, I cooked the bread next. One could put all the rest of the ingredients in together, as the recipe suggests, were one cooking for oneself, but I was doubling it. So I cooked the bread, with tomatoes on the side, about 45 seconds on the first side and 30 or so on the second. I put the tomatoes back in the oven while I rubbed the bread with garlic, and then added the lettuce and cooked 1 minute on the first side and a minute on the second. Should have watched the second side, though – thin leaves lying on the cooking sheet can get quite done.

This all worked wonderfully well, though. It was a delicous dinner, once again. D brought up our official Friday Wine, Cantina Zaccagnini Montepulciano d’Abruzzo, (2008) (from Costco) which was terrific with the meal, and terrific on its own. Love this wine!

 

{Drafted the 11th, Pictures added and posted the 19th}

~ by berkeleybarb on 2012/05/11.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

