Pizza with bacon and dandelion greens – 23 December 2012

Addpix

We have some really happy looking dandelion greens in the front yard, and I thought I should make something with them – possible something related to Georgeanne Brennan’s excellent recipe for savory pancakes with bacon and dandelion greens. I googled “pizza dandelion bacon,” and the second listing was…. my own blog! It seems I had made this before. I had some good suggestions for myself, too, which are reflected in today’s recipe.

I used a defrosted half-crust (Chez Panisse Calzone recipe plus 1 tsp sugar), and cooked it for 1 1/2 minutes at 500 degrees or so before decorating it. I uplled about 5 dozen 5″ leaves from dandelions in the front yard, washed them, stemmed them, cut them crosswise about 3/4″ to 1″ long, and re-rinsed in the lettuce spinner. I dumped the fragments out to dry on a towel. I had five frozen thick slices of bacon from Berkeley Bowl, and cut off 1/4 of the stack and let it defrost somewhat. Then I cut it into 4 or so slices lengthwise, and cut it crosswise into little squares. I cooked this in a random pour of olive oil – less that 1 Tbsp – for about 2 minutes, possibly longer. Don’t let it get too crisp. I spooned the bacon bits out onto a paper towel to cool. I sliced five scallions, white and green parts, and took the leaves off several stems of parsley I bought the other day (no reason to chop), and cooked these for 2-3 minutes in 2 Tbsp butter. Extravagant, I know.  I grated something on the order of 4 oz part-skim mozzarella (Precious, from Costco).

After pre-cooking the crust, I made an attempt to get butter from the scallion/parsley pan onto a brush to brush the rim of the pizza, but was only minimally successful. I covered the pizza with 1) grated mozz, 2) parsley and scallions, in their butter, and 3) bacon bits, and cooked 5 minutes at 500 degrees. I strewed the chopped daldelion greens over the pizza and then drizzled with lemon juice/olive oil dressing – 2 tsp of each.

I still had a HANNA Sauvignon Blanc in the fridge that we did not open for yesterday’s dinner, and realized we could easily compare it to the CalStar SB we had yesterday. I think the CalStar is the better wine, but both were good, and strikingly similar in gestalt. The Hanna is from the Russian River Valley, and the CalStar is also from up north a bit. We got it at Costco or about $12.

~ by berkeleybarb on 2012/12/23.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

